One Year Ago Today

One year ago today, this happened…

Roland and Chelsea's Engagment - 18 Roland and Chelsea's Engagment - 08

This year has flown by faster than I ever could have imagined when I stepped back and looked at my ring for the first time.

engagement ring

110 Days from today, I will marry my best friend.

Engagement Photos

(Courtesy of the fabulous Sarah Murray Photography)

I used to think that it was a cliché when people said that. And for some people it might just be a thing they say. For me though, saying that Roland is my best friend is just putting a label to what we are. When something exciting happens, he is the first person I want to tell. When I am sad, he is the first person I reach for. When I think about my future, I know that it is us together.

When I think of my parents, who yesterday celebrated their 35th wedding anniversary, I know that what has held them together through life is that they not only love each other, but they actually still LIKE each other. They love to spend time together. They travel together. They support each other’s dreams. They are best friends.

027

In 35 years, I want to still look at Roland like my parents look at each other.

I know that the next 110 days will fly by even faster than this past year has. I am so excited to discover what life holds for our future together!

Leave a Reply

