Staying Busy

One of the things that I really wanted to do when I started this blog was slow down and enjoy life. I have been going nonstop for years and I’m exhausted. What I’ve found through this process is that I’m totally incapable of slowing down. In the past six weeks, I have been away for the weekend literally every other weekend. The weekends I have been home have been filled with events locally as well as trying to accomplish all of my household goals.

I was initially very frustrated in the beginning of March as I looked ahead to the next three months and our calendars were literally filled with activities, events, and obligations. Two weddings, a tux fitting for Roland, a trip to Boston to see my family and the Boston Marathon, a grandmother visiting from out of state, a friend’s going away party, then a day packing their house to move, Run or Dye, a week long training in Connecticut, and the list just goes on… and on and on. This is exactly what I didn’t want. I didn’t want to be running all the time, busy, and foisting my poor dog off on people every few weeks when she couldn’t make the trip with us.

I stopped one day in the midst of it all as I once again scoured the calendar for some way to reduce the chaos in our busy schedule. Looking at the calendar, I realized that there was nothing on it that I didn’t want to do. This revelation that Roland and I had chosen all of these activities and cared enough about them to plan for them months in advance completely altered my perspective on the situation.  These were not just events and obligations, these were people.  This was not just dots filling our schedule, this was time with the people who make up our lives.

IMG_0991[1]

IMG_1101[1]

DSC_3988

I’ve always been busy and I probably always will be, but instead of continuing to grumble and attempting to paddle against the tide, I will choose to be happy in the midst of it all.

“Joy does not simply happen to us. We have to choose joy and keep choosing it everyday.”          – Henri Nouwen

This is one of my favorite quotes. I have it posted in my office and show it to people all the time.  One of these days I will truly learn to live it, but until then I will continue to strive for it. I don’t want to put my head down and push through.  I want to enjoy life.  So, halfway through the month of April, I look forward to the coming weeks and months of continued busyness and constantly chaotic schedules.  I will not be stressed about it. It is a blessing.

Happy Wednesday All!  I hope you are choosing joy in your lives today.

Leave a Reply

