Rocket Launch

It’s been a while since I’ve shared my life’s adventures, but that doesn’t mean that nothing has been happening.  Just that I’ve been out experiencing life and attempting to live out the motto this blog was started with.  Over the next few days I’ll try to make a few posts to highlight some major, and some not so major (because that’s what life really is), events in my life. Here is the first one!

What started as an average evening at home, turned into an adventure rather quickly.  My roommate, the science teacher, got a call reminding her that there was a rocket launching from the Wallop’s Island Flight Facility.  The launch was predicted to be able to be seen all up and down the East Coast.  She watched the live feed with enthusiasm, all of the checks and re-checks verifying that everything was good to go.

IMG_0413[1]

 

When it got closer to the launch time, she and Roland were both insistent that we drive out into a field to make sure that we have a clear view of the launch. I wanted to stand in the front yard and watch it, but was voted down as there are trees and houses obstructing the view. My argument, if the launch could be seen in Canada within 180 seconds, I was pretty sure we could view it over the trees when we were in the 0 seconds from launch to sighting area, got ignored quite dramatically.  So, off we drove, my two roommates, one girlfriend, my boyfriend, and me.  All piled into a car together. We parked on the side of a back road and walked out into a field. I brought snacks (they’re in the bag).

IMG_0419[1]

We kept the live feed going on Sami’s iPad just to make sure everything was still on schedule. After a few minutes we saw this.

IMG_0414[1]

IMG_0417[1]

Yup, all this for a small speck of light speeding toward the night sky. It was a very anticlimactic moment, but an adventure none the less. The video of the launch in the link below is much more dramatic than what was witnessed at our viewing location. You can also see a map of the East Coast and expected sighting times (the one that shows how many seconds post-launch it will take for North Carolina and Maine to see the rocket).

http://www.space.com/23627-rocket-launch-visible-east-coast-tuesday.html

This is experience was definitely one in which the joy was found in the journey. But, hey, now I can say I’ve watched a rocket launch!

Leave a Reply

